Historic Preservation Commission

The Historic Preservation Commission shall consist of nine voting members. Seven members shall be residents of the City of Macomb, appointed by the mayor and approved by the city council. The remaining members shall include the city’s downtown development director and a city council member, appointed by the mayor and approved by the city council.

The members shall be appointed on the basis of expertise, experience or interest in the area of local heritage and history, building construction, finance, rehabilitation and reuse of historical and architectural structures, small business or real estate.

Members of the commission shall be appointed for terms of three years. Of those members first taking office, two shall be appointed for one year, three for two years and two for three years. Alternate members shall be appointed to serve in the absence of or disqualification of the regular members. Vacancies shall be filled for the unexpired term only. Member shall serve without compensation.

Officers shall consist of a chairman, vice-chairman and a secretary elected by the preservation commission who shall serve a term of one year and shall be eligible for re-election.

The commission meets the 4th Tuesday of each month at 3:00 p.m. in City Hall council chambers.


Annette Carper
Dennis Danowski
Lara Dively
Sam Parker
Sue Scott
Lin Stults
Jeanetta Thorpe
Kristin Terry


City Staff:  John Bannon, Community Development Coordinator