Zoning Board of Appeals

The Board of Zoning Appeals shall consist of seven members appointed by the mayor with the consent of the city council. Each commission member shall serve a five year term.

The board of Zoning Appeals is hereby established and given its authority within the laws of the State of Illinois and by ordinance of the city council. The Board of Zoning Appeals shall have the following powers and duties:

To hear and decide appeals from, and to review orders, decisions, or determinations made by the community development coordination.

To hear and decide upon applications for variances from the requirements of the chapter.

To hear and decide all matters referred to it by the city council.

All hearings conducted by the Board of Zoning Appeals shall be open to the public. The Board of Zoning Appeals shall keep minutes of its proceedings showing the vote of each member upon each question, or if absent or failing to vote, indicating such fact, and shall also keep records of its hearings and other official actions. Findings of fact shall be included in the minutes of each case of a requested variation, and the reasons for granting or denying such application shall be specified. Every rule or regulation, and every order, requirement, decision or determination of the board shall be filed immediately in the office of the board and shall be a public record.

The Board of Zoning Appeals meets on the 1st and 3rd Wednesday of every month at 5:15 p.m. in City Hall council chambers.

Tina Belz
Tom Blackford
Sally Egler
Charlotte Morrow
Ron Runser
Rich Wallen
Kevin Weihardt

City Staff:  John Bannon, Community Development Coordinator